Scull, or too some sneak boating

Duck boats and duck boat blinds!

Scull, or too some sneak boating

Postby duckies » Tue Dec 24, 2013 5:33 pm

New to the site! But, before I post I'd like to say Merry Xmas too all.
Learning about the site from a close friend He asked me to look at the site and if I could possibly answer a question or two pertaining to Scull boating, as I have been doing this lost art for over 50 yrs.
Some History'
Started my sculling in Humboldt Bay California at the age of 14 and was ever so fortunate to learn from the very best, two Men whom were market hunters of those very early yrs. One teaching too shoot as the other giving all the pointers and skills to learn to scull the right way.
With those early boats changing to a more lower profile when the market days became non existent and limits were put harshly on all waterfowl. I heard the long stories of the huge numbers of ducks killed for market daily.
I read something here on the forum about color and what and how to use the different colors of the sculls used today.
I did not read a thing about everything else that goes along with the sculling in order to kill a nice limit of mallard or sprig on pretty much a daily outing. All I heard was if the color is wrong you were basically not going to kill much.