New Tender Boat, Question...

Duck boats and duck boat blinds!

New Tender Boat, Question...

Postby Woody » Mon Apr 07, 2014 1:58 pm

Okay, so as I posted before I just bought a new tender boat.
It is a 2000 Starcraft 14 LW in near showroom condition. Only problem is, it is shinny white and polished metal.
I need this bad boy to hide from ducks not attract gold digging biatches, so I need to paint it and that is where my questions start to roll in. I am a novice when it comes to giving something a nice paint job... I do however know the basics (take your time and prep work is everything).

I've spent a couple hours reading about boat painting at the four corners of the internet over the last couple days and it has truly left me more confused than when I started. And with that said I don't know where to start... it has the nice factory paint finish, do I need to remove that with acetone and sanding or can I simply sand that up a bit and spray primer right over top of it?
Have you ever wondered why your dick still looks brand new, but your face is starting to look like an aging pirate?
Woody

Re: New Tender Boat, Question...

Postby Olly » Mon Apr 07, 2014 2:17 pm

If it's aluminum just use a good etching primer and then spray some parkers boat paint on there. Worked well on the Shiney boat I did.
“If ye love wealth better than liberty, the tranquility of servitude better than the animating contest of freedom, go home from us in peace. We ask not your counsels or arms. Crouch down and lick the hands which feed you. May your chains set lightly upon you, and may posterity forget that ye were our countrymen.” ― Samuel Adams
Olly
WFF Administrator

Postby Woody » Mon Apr 07, 2014 2:22 pm

Olly wrote:If it's aluminum just use a good etching primer and then spray some parkers boat paint on there. Worked well on the Shiney boat I did.

So, I don't need to strip the paint at all?