Rotisserie Duck! Excellent!!

Post up all your game recipes!

Postby Tiler_J » Sun Oct 20, 2013 11:19 pm

So, I am new to the rotisserie cooker, but got some advice from a friend and wanted to share. First off you will need a rotisserie, I have a Ronco "as seen on TV" rotisserie, looks like they are around $100.00. Once you get this, you will have completed the most difficult part of this way of cooking ducks.

So far we have only tried a couple of simple rubs on the full body ducks, one was a lemon-pepper with a dash of chilli powder and another was just a orange-pepper. Apply rub, stick them into rotisserie cooker. For just a few ducks we would cook them for around 25-30 minutes. We loaded ours up this weekend with 8 and cooked them for about 35 minutes.

That is it, simple. It is so far some of the best duck I have ever had. We cooked 2 teal, one sprig, and 5 spoonies, and they were all excellent! The teal were a little more cooked (a little over medium rare) than the other birds, but they all came out amazingly juicy and with great flavor.

We will be experimenting through the season with different seasonings and possibly some marinades, but so far even just lemon-pepper has been excellent!! It is worth the investment in the rotisserie, you will not be disappointed.
Joel Smithjensen
FIREBALL Prostaff
Tiler_J

Re: Rotisserie Duck! Excellent!!

Postby 3legged_lab » Sun Oct 20, 2013 11:33 pm

Do you throw away the skin?

I'm being serious, I see pin feathers still on the one.
Bootlipkiller wrote: all the mallards I killed today had boners do to my epic calling.
3legged_lab
WFF Supporter

Postby Bootlipkiller » Sun Oct 20, 2013 11:36 pm

3legged_lab wrote:Do you throw away the skin?

I think only two had pin feathers bad the rest looked like foster farms chickens. But yes the ones with pin feathers joel pulled the skin off and they were still great!

Sent from an undisclosed location on the river