First Time Out Alone

New to duck hunting? Ask anything you want here, there are no stupid questions in here!

First Time Out Alone

Postby hgraves » Wed Jun 12, 2013 7:58 am

I am relatively new to duck hunting. I have been several times with a friend of mine, but we have kind of lost touch and I haven't been in a couple years. I really want to get back into it, but I don't want to have to depend on finding someone to hunt with. So I am trying to get everything I need to go it alone if I have to. But I have a couple questions.

When I have gone in the past, my friend always brought his dog to retrieve the ducks. Since I don't have a dog, and getting one isn't an option, how do I retrieve the ducks? I plan to do most of my hunting from a boat in "shallow" coves off a river. The water is probably just deep enough where I can't wade out to get the ducks. Obviously, I am going to have to use the boat to get them, so I guess a more accurate question would be WHEN do I go get them? Do I just let them sit in water and then pick them up when I am done? Or do I need to get them each time I down one? I would think firing up the motor would be disruptive and would probably piss off anyone else in the area.

Second question. Decoys. How many? Arranged how? I remember setting up decoys with my friend, but I don't remember how many there were or how we set them out.

Are there any good resources for new hunters, like "Duck Hunting for Dummies" or something?
hgraves

Re: First Time Out Alone

Postby Olly » Wed Jun 12, 2013 8:03 am

For getting the ducks a small fishing pole and a weighted trebble hook is the ticket. As for decoys some guys swear by a certain pattern based on the wind. Me I just throw them out there never seemed to make a difference, you can try different arrangements to see what works best in your area.

When you're just starting out get yourself 3dz "hot buy" mallards. Most ducks you'll be going after as a greenhorn will decoy into mallards.