First year waterfowl hunters

New to duck hunting? Ask anything you want here, there are no stupid questions in here!

First year waterfowl hunters

Postby HuntingAddict1775 » Mon Nov 04, 2013 10:15 pm

How are you all doing for your first year? This is my first year and I have done decent. Just was curious about the rest of y'all!
The Bible don't say nuthin' about daily limits.
HuntingAddict1775

Re: First year waterfowl hunters

Postby IndianaMallard64 » Tue Nov 05, 2013 2:14 am

been doing alright, kinda slow, been way too warm. post this kind of stuff in the 2013-2014 hunt season thread in the blind :thumbsup: welcome bud
IndianaMallard64

Postby ecorrigan » Tue Nov 26, 2013 1:58 am

This is my first year hunting waterfowl too and I'm looking forward to seeing some action, but it's tough here because the duck and goose hunting doesn't get too good until the snow falls. We're supposed to be up in the 40's for turkey-day, so it's gonna be a while before the hunting gets too good!
I work at a gun store and had one of the customers come in and try to consign his Benelli Nova and since that didn't work, he opted to sell that to me for a bargain price. Another customer is a trauma-surgeon and he loaned me about six, full-body goose decoys. My father-in-law also loaned me over a dozen duck decoys that I had to cut the old weights off and put new ones on, but I have all kinds of stuff that has fallen into my lap this season! I'm all equipped and ready to go, but I don't really know what I'm doing as of yet! I have all kinds of calls, but I read and hear that the best place for them is at home when I go hunting.