New duck hunter! Help?!

New to duck hunting? Ask anything you want here, there are no stupid questions in here!

New duck hunter! Help?!

Postby Kerrywhite30 » Sun Dec 28, 2014 6:00 pm

How's everyone doing? I'm new to duck hunting and I live in south ga, I posted earlier in another category wandering if anyone had any advice on hunting, calling, and decoying wood ducks. I have scouted and from what I've seen they fly very early and late. I've got 12 wood duck decoys, a mojo, and a few woody calls. We can't pin point where they are flying, I can only
Figure out where they are roosting. When they fly out in the mornings sometimes they fly right over our sets and
Don't even slow down, and same in the afternoon. We set up in a pond that's down there flight path. Does any one
Have any advice for me? This is my first season
And it is tough to find any advice, so if anyone has anything on calling, decoying, or just wood duck hunting in general please let me know! I've killed a few on just standing on the tracks and shooting them
AS they pass, but I wanna do it the right way!
Kerrywhite30

Re: New duck hunter! Help?!

Postby capt1972 » Sun Dec 28, 2014 6:01 pm

Woodies don't decoy very well, pass shoot them.
ΜΟΛΩΝ ΛΑΒΕ

The Tree of Liberty Must be Refreshed From Time to Time With the BLOOD OF TYRANTS
capt1972
WFF Forum Moderator

Postby Flyway Stalker » Tue Dec 30, 2014 11:50 am

Welcome!
Are woodys the only ducks you see where your at? If your Mojo is a mallard, whether or not it is or is'nt I would mix a dozen or so mallard deaks in and learn how to blow a mallard call. Where I'm at in the midwest we get into some woodys early season with just mallard deaks and calling.
The only place success comes before work is in the dictionary.
Flyway Stalker

Postby Kerrywhite30 » Tue Dec 30, 2014 12:52 pm

Flyway Stalker wrote:Welcome!