Sport dog collar

Everything Duck Dogs!

Sport dog collar

Postby Kerrywhite30 » Sun Oct 09, 2016 6:42 pm

I've been training my dog now for several months using Freddy kings self trained retriever series on YouTube. Me and the pup have made TREMENDOUS strides using this system. My pup is a year and six months old, black lab that we rescued 6 months into his life. This is my FIRST dog, and my FIRST time training a retriever, but am absolutely hooked. Now to my question, I'm not sure if anyone is following his videos, but we're on video seven were you introduce the sport dog collar. My question is how do I introduce it without giving him such a negative out look. I understand the association rules, like make positive associations, but he can't stand this thing. On setting one when I knick him he's yelping. They specify that you should never hear your dog vocalize, but that's the FIRST setting. What I've been doing to try to avoid him hating it so much is using the vibrate part of the system, and he listens well with it, but I know the shock will be needed further on. Any and all advice is welcomed, even the negative. Thanks in advance.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Kerrywhite30

Re: Sport dog collar

Postby team216 » Sun Oct 09, 2016 11:14 pm

I'm sure Rick will be on with a better answer soon enough. But my thought is; if the vibrate setting is enough for your dog to respond to, that's all you need to use. The lightest amount of pressure to have him respond, no matter the tool used to apply the pressure is all you should be using. Just because you have an e collar doesn't mean you must be shocking your dog. Vibrate is all I've ever used on my dog, because that's all she needed.
team216

Postby Kerrywhite30 » Mon Oct 10, 2016 4:45 am